If you do not report an accident to the DMV when you must do so, it can suspend your driver’s license and even press criminal charges that carry substantial fines and possible jail time.
If you sustained injuries in a car accident, the attorneys at Gacovino, Lake & Associates, P.C. would like to help. Call us today at 631-600-0000.
When Must You Report a Car Accident to DMV?
If your accident only caused minimal property damage, you must exchange information with the other involved parties. If you caused property damage, you must locate the owner of the damaged property and notify them. If you cannot locate the owner, you should report the incident to the police.
If the amount of the property damage exceeded $1,000, you must report the incident to the DMV within 10 days. Failure to do so can lead to the suspension of your driver’s license. You may also face fines, jail time, or both if you fail to report that falls under these parameters.
You must report an injury or fatality accident to the police immediately and file a report with the DMV. Failure to do so is a crime under New York law, and it can lead to criminal charges as well as the suspension of your driver’s license and registration. You could face charges up to a Class E felony, punishable by substantial fines and up to four years behind bars.
In the case of an injury or fatality accident, you should never leave the scene of the accident until an officer tells you that you can. Otherwise, the police may charge you with leaving the scene of an injury accident – an offense that carries serious penalties.
To file a self-report with the New York DMV, use Form MV-104 to report a car accident to the DMV.
If you would like a copy of the accident report in question, you can also request an accident report copy from the New York DMV web portal.
Do You Have to Report a Car Accident to Your Insurance Company?
In New York, you have no legal obligation to report a car accident. However, your car insurance policy likely does require you to report the accident to your insurer as soon as you possibly can.
Even if you did not have fault in the accident, you should report the incident to your insurance company. However, you do not legally have to give your insurance company a recorded statement in most cases. In fact, you should call us before giving any details to the insurance company, especially the other driver’s insurer.
A car accident lawyer can help you understand your rights and obligations for reporting an incident to the insurance company, to ensure you protect your rights to seek compensation for your auto insurer, should you have to pursue that option.
What Happens After You Report a Car Accident to DMV?
Once you report your accident to the DMV and, if necessary, to the police, your next step should be calling a car accident lawyer – especially if you sustained significant injuries.
If someone’s negligence led to the crash and caused your injuries, you have the legal right to fair financial compensation. Even if you contributed somewhat to the damages, you have the right to pursue a settlement.
A lawyer can help you understand and protect your rights throughout the claims process. A lawyer can also help you fulfill your legal obligations for reporting to the New York DMV and, if applicable, to your insurance company.
You must take care not to make any statements to the at-fault party’s insurance company that could compromise your rights to pursue a claim. Your lawyer can also ensure that you do not sign any releases or documents that could restrict your rights to obtain financial compensation.
Learn More by Talking to a Car Accident Lawyer for No Cost
In New York, the car accident lawyers of Gacovino, Lake & Associates, P.C. would like to offer you a complimentary consultation to discuss the facts of your injury accident case. Call us at 631-600-0000 to learn more.